facebook1 youtube1 twitter1 instagram linkedin1 pinterest1

NOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community! REGISTER AND MAKE THIS BOX DISAPPEAR!

Pictures Posting Not Working (12 Jun 2023)

Picture uploads is again unavailable. We are working on the problem. Thanks for your patience.

Makotosun

'75 DT250-B No lights at all are working

• spudmanDT250
  • spudmanDT250's Avatar Topic Author
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member

'75 DT250-B No lights at all are working was created by spudmanDT250

Hello folks!  While I'm considered a "newbie" here, I've been riding since 1974 and have a fairly decent understanding of electrical/electronic basics.  I just picked up a sweet 1975 DT250-B today and none of the lighting is working.  I just have a few questions and am hoping some of the members here can point me in the right direction from which to start.  As of now, here are some facts:
1.  I have a brand new fully charged Yuasa battery installed.
2.  BOTH filaments of the headlight are burned out.
3.  I have a voltage regulator ordered and arriving next week.
And here are a few questions:
1.  Does a functioning (not burned out) headlight need to be connected for any of the other lights (turn signal, dash indicators) to work?
2.  Will ANY of the lighting work without the engine running?  In other words, can I test the connection/circuit to any of the other lighting (turn signals, dash lights) simply by turning the main switch on?
3.  Is the wiring for a '75 DT250 the same as the wiring for a '75 DT400?  The reason I ask is that I have found a nice COLOR wiring schematic for the DT400, but only a black & white version for the DT250.  Just seems a bit easier to use.