facebook1 youtube1 twitter1 instagram linkedin1 pinterest1

NOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community! REGISTER AND MAKE THIS BOX DISAPPEAR!

Pictures Posting Not Working (12 Jun 2023)

Picture uploads is again unavailable. We are working on the problem. Thanks for your patience.

Makotosun

AG 175 clutch slipping

• IanF
  • IanF's Avatar Topic Author

AG 175 clutch slipping was created by IanF

Having now sorted my carby the next fix needed on my 1976 AG 175 is the clutch. It is working in that I can engage and disengage via the clutch handle but under load it is slipping badly. I have zero experience in clutches so before I go straight to pulling it apart I thought I should first ask the brains trust here what I should do? Is it best to just pull it apart and inspect, identify needs of either new plates or adjustments, or is there other things to check/do first? Should I be ordering parts before I even pull it apart - I mean is it standard practice just to put all new plates in when redoing a clutch? Any advice before I make my first move would be really appreciated!

Thanks
Ian
04 Apr 2020 14:20 #1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by Swoop56 on topic AG 175 clutch slipping

There are a few things that can cause a clutch to slip , other than the clutch itself .
Using a car type oil in your gearbox for one . They have a number of friction additives ,
that often play havoc with a wet clutch on a motorcycle .
The clutch cable , and / or lower adjuster down at the engine , may be bound up with
dirt / grease , and may not release properly . The nylon gear on the lower adjuster can split too ,
which could also cause it not to release properly . There is an adjustment which should be made
at the engine adjuster , which is detailed in service manuals .