facebook1   youtube1   twitter1   instagram   linkedin1   pinterest1

logosmallNOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community!

To "Leak Test" or not?

01 Dec 2020 19:31 01 Dec 2020 19:37 by LuckyLuke.
LuckyLuke
More
Topic Author
To "Leak Test" or not? #1
My question(s) to the experts relate to whether or not there is good value in doing a leak down test (LDT) before I do some maintenance on my DT1 engine. My research tells me that an engine with air leaks will be difficult to tune and will not run optimally. I know my engine has a oil leak on the right cover side because when I filled the crank oil, about 50% of it leaked back out. Let me first qualify I am a serious novice at this stuff and have a lot to learn. Here are my questions.

I did a leak down test and the engine did not hold any air. I checked for leaks(soap and water) and believe the mag crank seal at a minimum has a significant leak. The engine at LDT time does not have any oil as I drained it first.

Questions.
1- should there be oil in the engine to do a proper leak test?
2- should I repair the clutch side gasket where the oil leak is b4 doing the leak test?
3- I am I placing too much value in a LDT?
4 - do Dt1 engine benefit from a LDT or do they run fine with some air leaks?
5 - can I replace engine seals without spitting the crankcase if repairing leaks is essential? Particularly the mag seal which is leaking noticeably?
6 - how relevant is it that I was able to run the engine, albeit very rough, before I started looking at replacing the crank side gaskets and other seals that might be replaced without splitting the crankcase?
7 - Am I just over thinking this and should I just replace the crankside gaskets (ie; right side) where the oil leak is and move on?