facebook1   youtube1   twitter1   instagram   linkedin1   pinterest1

logosmallNOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community!

1978 DT175 - help with rough running

30 Nov 2020 13:18
Alfonzo227
More
Topic Author
1978 DT175 - help with rough running #1
Hi folks! Just found this community, hoping to get some expert guidance on my goal of getting an old 1978 DT175 running right. Backstory: I bought this bike over the summer, and it ran well enough for me to at least ride it and make sure it shifts, brakes, etc. I've slowly been working on getting it to a decent condition, but I'm having a hard time with the engine. It's a strange enough problem that I haven't found a forum post that exactly matches my issue, and I'm not experienced enough with 2-stroke engines to know exactly what to search for. I haven't really ridden it at all since I'm worried about damaging it further.

Description of problem: Bike can be started alright, takes a couple kicks, and idles alright (haven't fully dialed in idle since I'm having bigger issues). It runs, but very poorly: power is a little jerky, and sluggish at low RPM, but feels like full power with a good throttle pull. Coming to a stop, it stalls every time, then takes a few kicks to start again. Bike runs worse off choke, but also is fairly smoky (though nothing horrendous). Sounds terrible to me, but I'm not 100% sure how much is standard 2-stroke noises vs. my specific issues. I have a short video of a 50 yard ride herehere if it's helpful.

What I've done so far: cleaned the carb (twice), taking care to clean all the jets. I'm fairly confident I did this right (not my first gummed up carb). Float isn't quite right (slight fuel drip out of float bowl overfloat), but I don't think it's related.