facebook1   youtube1   twitter1   instagram   linkedin1   pinterest1

logosmallNOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community!

Clutch Engagement 1978 DT175

26 Oct 2020 13:18
Mayo
More
Topic Author
Clutch Engagement 1978 DT175 #1
I have been working on my bike for about 5 months now. Got to a point, where I would pull the clutch lever in and attempt to accelerate, the bike would just sit there not moving. At first I believed the plates had worn down, so I replaced them but didn't seem to help much. Then reasoned it could be a stretched clutch cable, so I replaced that. After adjusting the lever to where it lines up with the nub on the case, the plates seem to move less. I had read elsewhere that the pushrod assembly would be another area to inspect if the clutch is not engaging. I will attach a few pictures of the basket. One being the lever at rest and the next being fully engaged. There is hardly a difference, as you can see. Just wondering what's the best direction to take at this point?

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

26 Oct 2020 14:09
RT325
Collector
Collector
More
Clutch Engagement 1978 DT175 #2